Child Care Facility Licensing
|apply for or Renew a license
P.O. Box 260035
Baton Rouge, LA 70826
Phone: (225) 342-9905
FAX: (225) 663-3168
|Important updates for Child Day Care Providers|
- Child Day Care Center - any place or facility operated by any institution, society, agency, corporation, person or persons, or any other group for the purpose of providing care, supervision, and guidance of 7 or more children, not including those related to the caregiver, unaccompanied by parent or guardian, on a regular basis for at least 12 1/2 hours in a continuous 7-day week. Related or relative is defined as the natural or adopted child or grandchild of the caregiver or a child in the legal
custody of the caregiver.
Facilities licensed by DCFS?
- View a list of licensed facilities to search by parish, facility
name, license number or license type.
Note: Legislation passed during the 2009 Regular Legislative
Session (HB 728-Act 381) transferred the licensing and regulation
of adult residential care homes to DHH. Physical transfer of programs will take place in July 2010.
Do I qualify?
- Class "A" Child Day Care Regulations
- Please note that the Class A Child Day Care Minimum Standards, formerly published in the Louisiana Administrative Code under Title 48, Part I, Chapter 53, Sections 5301-5339, are now published in the Code under Title 67, Part III, Chapter 73, Sections 7301-7339.
- Letter to Class A providers reminding facilities that provide transportation that they are required to conduct a visual check of the vehicle to ensure that no child is left in the vehicle. (07.10.09)
- Class "B" Child Day Care Regulations
- Please note that the Class B Child Day Care Minimum Standards, formerly published in the Louisiana Administrative Code under Title 48, Part I, Chapter 53, Sections 5355-5385, will now be published in the Code under Title 67, Part III, Chapter 73, Sections 7355-7385.
- Letter to Class B providers reminding facilities that provide transportation that they are required to conduct a visual check of the vehicle to ensure that no child is left in the vehicle. (07.10.09)
For initial applications, a fee of $25.00 is required with the application form. This non-refundable fee will be applied toward the license fee when the facility is licensed. All fees are to be paid by certified check or money order made payable to the Department of Children & Family Services. Do NOT send cash, business or personal checks.
After the completed application has been received by Licensing, it will request that inspections be made by the Office of the State Fire Marshal, Office of Public Health, Sanitarian Services, and any other appropriate local agencies (Zoning Department, City Fire Department, etc.). Even though Licensing makes these requests, it is the responsibility of the applicant to obtain the inspections and get the approvals.
After the application form and initial fee have been received and processed, you will be contacted by Licensing to schedule the initial inspection survey by a Licensing Specialist. All of the appropriate agencies listed above must give their approval prior to licensure and occupancy. Any additional licensure fees are due after the initial survey and prior to issuance of a license.
A renewal license will be issued if, upon investigation, the provider continues to meet and maintain the minimum licensing standards and the annual licensing fee is paid.
If the application for renewal and fee are not received timely (30 days prior to the anniversary date) and the application is not completed thoroughly and accurately, the provider's license will expire on the expiration date shown on the license. If the provider continues to operate the facility after the expiration date, the provider will be reported to the DCFS General Counsel for operating an unlicensed facility.
A license must be renewed on an annual basis. The month of issue of the initial license becomes the anniversary month for all renewals. Generally all licenses expire on the last day of the month. This expiration date will be printed at the bottom of the license.
in the event of an emergency?
In the event that a hurricane or other disaster occurs and produces widespread evacuation and extensive property damage, action may need to be taken to help ensure the safety of all children being cared for by licensed, registered, or certified providers. If a disaster occurs and you are in one of the AFFECTED PARISHES, it may be necessary to suspend your license, provider registration, or certification WITHOUT NOTICE until your facility or home can be verified as safe to provide child care. This may be accomplished by a required State Fire Marshal inspection, State Health inspection, on-site Licensing inspection and/or other agency-mandated procedure to ensure the safety of children in care. Your license, provider registration, or certification would remain suspended until your facility is verified as safe.
If such a disaster occurs, you should check the DCFS website to determine if your facility or home is located in an affected parish and for additional information and instructions in the procedures for re-instatement of your license, registration, or certification. In addition, licensed child care providers should contact the Licensing Division at (225) 342-9905 as soon as possible once the hurricane or event has passed if instructions on how to reinstate your license is not available on the website. All other child care providers should contact the Provider Directory at 1-800-680-9098 for instructions on how to reinstate Child care Assistance Program (CCAP) eligibility.
If you do not follow the necessary procedures to reinstate your license and eligibility for CCAP, it may result in a break in your licensure status, closure of your licensing file and/or a break in or loss of CCAP payments.
Staff Member Training information
More information about approved training courses for continuing education, approved Infant/Child/Adult CPR courses and how to be approved as a trainer of child care staff
sample forms for use in Day Care Centers
These sample forms range from medication authorization forms and child information sheets to field trip permission slips and employee forms.
- Adult Residential
- Child Residential Facility
- Adoption Agency
- Child Foster Care Agency
- Emergency Shelter
- Maternity Home
- Transitional Youth Residence
Licensed by the Bureau of Community Supports and Services in the Department of Health and Hospitals:
- Adult Day Health Care
- Case Management Agencies that provide services for
- MR/DD Waiver
- Elderly/Disabled Adult Waiver
- H.I.V. Targeted Population
- Nurse Home Visitation Program